Albert Schweitzer

  • Albert Schweitzer

    Albert Schweitzer

  • L'hôpital de Lambaréné aujourd'hui

    Albert Schweizer's Hospital in Lambaréné

Albert Schweitzer's influence on Nouvelle Planète

Nouvelle Planète has been widely influenced by the "Ethics of Reverence for Life", which were developed by Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) on the shores of Ogooué river in Gabon. During the interwar period, Schweitzer searched for solutions in a world which he saw as decadent. " I am life that wills to live in the midst of life that wills to live; I must have reverence for life." He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1952.

He was more a man of action, rather than a philosopher. He put his thoughts into practice and was often misunderstood by his contemporaries. He announced the "duty to help the hungry in the world" and has fulfilled it, by treating the poorest in the hospital in Lambaréné in Gabon. "Example is not the main thing in influencing others, it's the only thing," is another important quote of his. He believed in human beings, not things, as drivers of progress. He was a convinced optimist oriented towards the future.

Today, Nouvelle Planète still acts according to these principles, which are inspired by Albert Schweitzer, such as: reverence for life, act with a purpose, search for simplicity, mutual trust and optimism.

Albert Schweitzer

  • Albert Schweitzer
  • L'hôpital de Lambaréné aujourd'hui

L’influence d’Albert Schweitzer sur Nouvelle Planète

Nouvelle Planète s’est largement inspirée de « l’éthique du respect de la vie » qu’Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) a émise sur les bords de l’Ogoué au Gabon pour essayer de trouver une solution à l’époque de décadence qu’il avait l’impression de vivre entre les deux guerres mondiales. « Toute vie émane d’une vie et engendre une vie. Je suis vie qui veut vivre au milieu d’autres vies qui veulent vivre; je dois donc respecter toute vie », préconise le Prix Nobel de la Paix de 1952.

Plus qu’un philosophe, Albert Schweitzer était un homme d’action et de terrain. Il mettait en pratique ce qu’il pensait et était souvent incompris par ses contemporains. Il proclamait le « devoir de venir en aide aux affamés de la Terre » et le réalisait au travers de la médecine en faveur des plus défavorisés de l’époque dans l’hôpital de Lambaréné au Gabon. « L’exemple n’est pas le meilleur moyen, c’est le seul » disait-il. Il croyait en l’Homme comme moteur du progrès, plutôt qu’en les choses, ce qui fait de lui un grand optimiste, orienté vers l’avenir.

Nouvelle Planète agit aujourd’hui encore selon des principes inspirés par l’éthique d’Albert Schweitzer tels que le respect de toute vie, l’action concrète, la recherche de simplicité, la confiance mutuelle et l’optimisme.